Now What?

Basic Firearm and Defensive Skills and Training Discussion Section.
Ghostwolf308
Staff Member
Founding Member #: 002

Now What?

Post by Ghostwolf308 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:00 pm

Original post by maestro196 on the old Canik Fanatik Forum

I have my Canik TP9SF. I have taken a basic pistol course where I learned safety, loading and unloading, sight picture and trigger control. I have been to a couple of indoor ranges and fired about 500 rounds trying to work on just getting used to the weapon. Are there any practice drills to help with marksmanship and or trigger control? Like in baseball you break the swing down to it's components and there are drills to do that. I'm sure there is something comparable with shooting (or I ope so) but I just don't know where it is. I was a total newbie to pistol shooting and I want to do this the right/safe way.

Thanks,
Rick
0 x

Ghostwolf308
Staff Member

Re: Now What?

Post by Ghostwolf308 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:01 pm

Original post by wulf on the old Canik Fanatik Forum

Probably the best way to become a better shooter is to go and shoot. Familiarity and confidence with your gun will bring about better skills. YouTube has a lot of good videos concerning trigger control, which is the #1 factor in good marksmanship. There are dry fire drills you can do at home. Some people use snap caps, some use the iTarget laser system which looks pretty useful. However, as stated, get completely comfortable with the gun first and make as many range trips as you can. Work on the fundamentals and then progress.
0 x

Ghostwolf308
Staff Member

Post by Ghostwolf308 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:02 pm

Original post by kretch50 on the old Canik Fanatik Forum

Post by kretch50 on Oct 26, 2017 at 3:36pm
I encourage you to read these articles on this following sites and extract the info that applies to you:

www.luckygunner.com/lounge/why-you-arent-better/

www.luckygunner.com/lounge/start-shooti ... ure-drill/