swampfox Canik-Gear-Banner2 canik-fanatic-ad-top3
Unanswered topics Active topics
New Members, take a moment and introduce yourself. Tell us a little about you and your interest in the Canik brand of firearms.
Hello friends! I’m a photographer by trade and I enjoyed shooting photos daily and guns on my spare time. Picked up a TP9 SFX earlier this month and after hearing about a few issues, I gave it a quick clean and loaded a couple mags with some 124 ammo and went to do a little plinking.
I didn’t make it through the first mag when I got my first FTF. I racked the gun and the gun fired properly. I shot about 100 rounds total and had the issue at least 4-5 times.
My plan at this point is to blame it on the break in period or maybe even limp wrists a time or two and try not to worry about it too much. In the meantime, I have reached out to CA for the lighter spring. Any advice would be appreciated!
Disassemble and clean, clean, clean. They are known to ship with gunk. Make sure you clean out the firing pin channel too.

Second part you have already completed, requesting the reduced power RSA.

Third part is to break-in with hot ammo (if you have some).

Here is the link to all things SFx: topic1888.html
ShutterBug wrote: Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:27 pm Or should I just order the Sprinco kit with the yellow RCS and the 29N striker spring?

https://sprinco-com.3dcartstores.com/vi ... sp?catid=0
So what is the end game with your Canik? Competition? Home defense and/or CCW? Range plinker? It all makes a difference on what you add and how much you want to spend.

If you want to tinker, a W74 guide rod with Commander length springs in the 13# to 16# range gives you the most malleability. The Springco option (which is a very good option), while it doesn't add as much weight as the W74 guide rod, does improve upon the stock operation.

So it's all a "depends" answer to your question.